THE END!!! (at least my literature requirements are completed)

I can’t believe this is our last post, I literally remember writing my first blog post on proust, on my way to Vancouver, this has been an interesting journey for sure. I took RMST courses both semesters, and I’m definitely looking forward to taking more in the future!

This course was an escape from my other academic courses and a break from all the boring academic readings, that allowed me to dive into my passion for reading, and read books that I never would have even touched if not for this class. All the books I read were such a rollercoaster ride, while some were confusing as hell my favourites were definitely ‘The Shrouded Woman” by Bombal (THE AMOUNT OF DRAMA, LIKE OH MY GOD, I WAS SO DEEP INTO THAT BOOK) and “Death with interruptions” by Saramago, it really got me thinking about life and death, and questioning every single moment of my life. My to be read list for summer includes going back to “If on A Winter’s Night a Traveler”, let’s hope some of it goes through my brain.

I found the structure of the class really interesting, I don’t think I’ve taken a course with such a unique structure. While reading a book every week and writing blogs to get an A+ was kind of a pain, reading other people’s blogs and their reactions to each book and the discussions in classes were really fun. (The music played by the professor during our discussion was a cherry on top, and a lot of them are a part of my playlists now)

This class definitely made me more open-minded to read books from different genres and different authors in the future, and I really look forward to it! Further, my discussions with everyone in the class actually helped and taught me it’s okay to not have same interpretations or opinons about any piece of writing or art and just because they don’t match with the majority, doesn’t mean they’re wrong. Overall, this course was really interesting and fun! and unfortunately this is where my blogging career ends, it was good while it lasted. I hope all of you have a good summer (I’M SO EXCITED) and best of luck for exams! (Praying for you all!!)

Discussion question: (LAST DISCUSSION QUESTION EVER) What was your favourite drink pairing in the course and why? Do any of you see yourself going back to any of the books that we read in this course for whatever reason, if yes which one? ((I think all of us should make a list of all the drinks suggested by the prof and try them out over the summer))

4 responses to “THE END!!! (at least my literature requirements are completed)”

  1. Daniel Orizaga Doguim Avatar
    Daniel Orizaga Doguim

    “This course was an escape from my other academic courses and a break from all the boring academic readings“
    Brilliant! If we have achieved that, I can say that it has been mission accomplished on our part. You are always welcome to our Romance Studies courses…we hope to see you again! Enjoy your summer and your reading (or re-reading) on vacation 🙂

    Like

  2. Fiona Weng Avatar
    Fiona Weng

    Hi Myra! I totally get what you mean about this course being a breath of fresh air amidst all the academic stuff. It’s like a little escape into the world of literature, and I’ve discovered so many new books that I never would’ve picked up on my own. Some of them were real mind-benders, but it is what makes the reading experience evermore interesting! Thank you for your comment!

    Like

  3. indra Avatar
    indra

    Hello Myra!! I definitely agree with how this course allowed you to become more open-minded with different books; the discussions were my favorite part. Hearing everyone’s perspectives really did help me enjoy the books more, and think of them in a new way. You should definitely read If on a winter’s night a traveler, it is my mostt favorite one!! I would say my favorite drink pairing was probably Vermouth with baby octopus, cause I’ve never heard of baby octopus being drank with alcohol!!

    Like

  4. Sam Makkar Avatar
    Sam Makkar

    Hi Myra! I definitely see myself reading “If on a winters night a traveller” because everyone loved it so much and I didn’t get the chance to read it! I also really loved “The Shrouded Woman” I think I would like to pick it up again even and give it a more well paced read through :)) Have a great summer!

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started