Welcome to my rant: Calvino’s “If on a Winter’s Night a Traveller”

Starting with “If on a Winter’s Night a Traveler” by Italo Calvino is like going on an exhilarating literary rollercoaster that defies conventional narrative assumptions. Calvino transforms readers from passive spectators into active players within a multi-layered story, making this novel more than just a book. It’s an immersive experience. The novel’s unique capacity to transport readers to a realm where imagination and reality collide, resulting in a series of incomplete stories that evoke feelings of both exhilaration and frustration, is what makes it so charming.

After seeing a couple book reviews and reading the lecture. I came to understand that the allure of “If on a Winter’s Night a Traveler” resides in its capacity to blur the boundaries between fact and fiction by involving readers as participants. Calvino transforms you from a mere spectator into a participant in his intricate literary game of snakes and ladders. It’s an excruciating loop of high expectations and disappointing experiences, like a succession of literary speed dates that leave you wanting more.

This wasn’t my favorite book by far; I had a terrible time concentrating on this “dazzling post-modernist classic”; it wasn’t uninteresting, but it also wasn’t engaging. I could see that the text was of the highest caliber, but I also couldn’t deny that my reading experience was mediocre at best.

The weirdest part was, you’re continuously reminded to be conscious of your reading environment by the text, which made me more aware of the distractions around me and how uncomfortable it was to read a digital version. That being said, when they first brought this up, I was just wishing I could spend the entire day alone in a room physically holding this book in my hands, reading. To be honest, my eyes started to hurt at one point from staring at the screen.

The story unfolded and I was left with more questions than answers, almost like I was piecing together a puzzle with only some of the pieces at my disposal. Interessantly mirroring themes of yearning and the inevitable frustration in achieving narrative fulfillment, the book’s structure is marked by periodic resets in the narrative. To my understanding, Calvino skillfully uses these pauses to explore the common human search for understanding and significance, both in the context of literature and in the larger fabric of existence.Overall, this book was like a crazy roller coaster ride, I think I’d like to give it a second read in summer, sitting outside alone, chilling without the stress of uni.

Still, Italo Calvino creates a story in “If on a Winter’s Night a Traveler” that is repeatedly stopped and resumed. My question for you is to consider how the novel’s structure resonates with the themes of want and frustration as it seeks narrative completion. How does Calvino make comments about the human search for understanding and purpose in life and storytelling through these pauses?

4 responses to “Welcome to my rant: Calvino’s “If on a Winter’s Night a Traveller””

  1. Daniel Orizaga Doguim Avatar
    Daniel Orizaga Doguim

    “I think I’d like to give it a second read in summer, sitting outside alone, chilling without the stress of uni.” If you ask me, that would be the best option according to Calvino! Also in the novel there is the theme of frustration. As readers we are not always in the best conditions to approach the text, even if we become devourers of books. In your case, what specifically did you find that makes you want to return to the book later? Were the video lectures useful to resolve any doubts?

    Like

  2. Avery Avatar
    Avery

    I think your “WTF” tag really intrigued me to read your post lol! I had a similar experience to you, I didn’t think the content of the book was not good, it was intriguing but I did find it hard to concentrate and at times when I was reminded of being conscious about myself and my environment it kind of took me out of the story!

    Like

  3. indra Avatar
    indra

    Hi Myra! I enjoyed reading your blog this week. I never really thought of the story in a more philosophical, broader way, as how humans in general search for complete understanding in various aspects. It’s a refreshing perspective!! I just thought the Reader was that intense of a book lover that he just had to finish the readings, but I think it could be explained by the need for understanding or completion us humans have. The sense of closure gives us satisfaction having finished the thing, whether it be a book or even a small task in your to-do list, and I understand the feelings of frustration he felt because I did too, when I was caught at the cliffhangers the books were left at!!

    Like

  4. Alexandra MacPhee Avatar
    Alexandra MacPhee

    I agree with your point that while this book was very interesting and took us along multiple journeys, involving a reader along the way, it wasn’t entirely engaging. The transition from the assumption that the current readers are the intended audience to the introduction of short stories can be slightly confusing.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started